EC transfers 8 DMs and 12 SPs in five states

The Election Commission on Tuesday issued transfer orders for eight district magistrates and 12 superintendents of police in five states, namely Assam, Bihar, Odisha, Jharkhand and Andhra Pradesh. The decision was taken as part of the “regular review” by the Commission during a meeting chaired by Chief Election Commissioner Rajiv Kumar along with Election Commissioners Gyanesh Kumar and Sukhbir Singh Sandhu, the EC said.

All the transferred officials have been asked to hand over the charge to their immediate junior officer and those shunted out will not be assigned any election duty till completion of the Lok Sabha polls.

The respective state governments have been directed to send a panel of names of IAS and IPS officers to the Commission and ones shortlisted will be appointed in place of those transferred out.

EC in March had issued transfer orders for non-cadre officers holding key positions as District Magistrates (DM) and Superintendents of Police (SP) in four states—Gujarat, Punjab, Odisha, and West Bengal.

The Commission last month emphasized that the posts of DM and SP are typically held by officers from the Indian Administrative Service and the Indian Police Service, respectively.

EC had reiterated its dedication to ensuring fairness in the electoral process, a sentiment echoed by CEC Rajiv Kumar.

Harry Byrne

Related post