NCP (SCP) releases 1st list of candidates

The Central Parliamentary Committee of the ‘Nationalist Congress Party – Sharad Chandra Pawar’ party today announced the first list of candidates for the Lok Sabha Election 2024. “Supriya Sule and Amol Kolhe have been retained from Baramati and Shirur constituencies, respectively,” said state unit NCP (SP) chief Jayant Patil while declaring the list.

The party has announced candidates for five seats – Wardha, Dindori, Baramati, Shirur, and Ahmednagar.

The party has renominated Supriya Sule from Baramati; she will take on NCP’s Sunetra Pawar whose name was announced from Baramati hours after the release of NCP(SCP)’s list.

Meanwhile, NCP(SCP) has nominated Bhaskar Bhagre from Dindori seat in Nashik district and former Congress MLA Amar Kale from Wardha.

Bhagre will square off against Union minister and sitting BJP MP Bharati Pawar in Dindori (ST) seat.

Lanke, the sitting MLA from Parner, will face off against BJP MP Sujay Vikhe Patil from the Ahmednagar constituency.

NCP (SP), part of the opposition Maha Vikas Aghadi (MVA), also comprising Shiv Sena (UBT) and Congress, will contest 10 seats in Maharashtra, which sends 48 members to Lok Sabha.

Earlier, Shiv Sena-UBT on Wednesday announced its list of 16 Lok Sabha candidates, including three from Mumbai, evoking huge resentment among the Maha Vikas Aghadi (MVA).

The Congress and the NCP (SCP) cried foul at their ally SS-UBT’s “unilateral” announcement of 16 nominees when the seat-sharing talks are still on among the MVA partners.

The Lok Sabha elections will be held in seven phases this time, from April 19 to June 1. The counting of votes will held on June 4.

William Murphy

Related post