Nitish Kumar retains Home, BJP gets Finance, Health

After a week of taking the oath, the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) government in Bihar has finally allocated portfolios for the ministers based on the 2020 formula between BJP, JD (U) and other allies.

Chief Minister Nitish Kumar has retained the home portfolio with him while finance, health, road construction, urban development and housing has gone to BJP.

Kumar has also kept general administration, cabinet secretariat, election and vigilance.

There was a lot of discussion over BJP trying to get the home ministry. But finally, the alliance partners agreed to follow the 2020 formula.

The two deputy chief ministers from BJP, Samrat Choudhary and Vijay Kumar Sinha have both got nine portfolios each. Choudhary has got finance, health, commercial tax, urban development and housing, sports, industry, and law among others while Sinha’s portfolios include agriculture, road construction, revenue, land reforms, and labour.

JD(U) leader Vijay Kumar Chaudhary has retained parliamentary affairs besides getting water resources, transport, building construction, education and information, and public resources department. Veteran JD(U) leader Bijendra Yadav, whom Kumar often credits for transforming the power sector in the state, has retained the department, besides getting excise and prohibition, planning and development, rural works, and minority welfare.

(You can now subscribe to our Economic Times WhatsApp channel)

Related post