Odisha Polls: BJP releases list of 112 candidates

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Tuesday released a list of 112 candidates for the upcoming Assembly elections in Odisha.

The lone legislator who has been denied the BJP ticket was Lalitendu Bidyadhar Mohapatra from Brahmagiri in Puri district. Mohapatra’s niece Upasana Mohapatra has got the ticket from the Brahmagiri Assembly seat. There are eight women candidates.

As per the list, BJP state president Manmohan Samal will contest from the Chandbali assembly segment in Bhadrak district while senior party leader and sitting MP from Bargarh Suresh Pujari will contest from Brajarajnagar Assembly seat. Pujari was denied the party ticket for contesting the Lok Sabha polls this time.

Leader of Opposition and MLA Jaynarayan Mishra will contest from his traditional Sambalpur assembly seat.

— EconomicTimes (@EconomicTimes)

Three turncoats from BJD, Arabinda Dhali, Akash Das Nayak and Priyadarshi Mishra were given BJP tickets. Arabinda Dhali will fight from the Jayadev assembly segment in Khurda district.

While actor-turned-politician Akash Das Nayak, has been given the ticket for Korei Assembly segment in Jajpur district, former BJD MLA Priyadarshi Mishra will fight the polls from Bhubaneswar North seat.

While the saffron party’s youth leader Tankadhar Tripathy will fight the Assembly polls from Jharsuguda, MLA Kusum Tete will contest from Sundargarh Assembly seat and Biswaranjan Badajena from Jatni.

Jagannath Pradhan has been fielded from Bhubaneswar Central, Babu Singh from Bhubaneswar Ekamra and Prithiviraj Harichandan from Chilika Assembly seat.

The Election Commission on March 16, 2024, announced the dates for the assembly elections in Odisha. Assembly elections will be held along with Lok Sabha elections in Odisha in four phases.

The assembly polls will be held alongside general elections in fourth, fifth, sixth and seventh phases on May 13, May 20, May 25, and June 1, respectively. Counting will be held on June 4.

2019 report card- A quick recap

In the last assembly polls in 2019, the Biju Janata Dal (BJD) got a brute majority of 112 seats giving Naveen Patnaik a fifth term in power. Patnaik has been at the helm in Odisha since 2000. BJD had won 117 seats in 2014.

In 2019, BJP managed to increase its tally to 23 from 10 while Congress saw a decrease of seven seats; the grand old party managed to win only nine seats in 2019 against 16 in 2014 polls.

The Odisha Assembly consists of 147 seats. To form the government, a party would need at least 74 seats. The tenure of Odisha Legislative Assembly is scheduled to end on 24 June 2024.

William Murphy

Related post